Beginner Confusion: Contributing- montage feature failing CI testing

Hi there!
I’m a student new to both MNE, and the world of code development - though I am coming from a neuroscience background. I wanted to practice the general skills for contributing to open sourced software, so I chose some mne-python Issues labeled Easy to work through. (There may be some course credit involved. :sweat_smile: )

Hopefully, this is the place to ask for help?
I keep getting stuck at CI test points unrelated to anything I changed, and I’m not sure where to ask for clarification. CI testing fails at Azure pipeline Make & Build steps, related to html_dev-noplot…and doc stuff… but my edit changed no existing code, and only added a minor ability in montage.py , an associated test, and relevant contribution documentation… there’s not too many places for this to have gone wrong.

Running tests on my computer (mac) doesn’t give me any issues, so I’m not certain how to fix this.
I’m not even certain where to look to start understanding what needs attention, here.

If anyone wants to take a look directly - [here’s the pull request] (ENH: #10542 Adds __eq__() to DigMontage class and updates tests. by TzionaN · Pull Request #10942 · mne-tools/mne-python · GitHub)

1 Like

As you saw, you will get replies and help for contribution directly on the PR. A couple of words to explain the failure, if you click on details for the failing test, you will get additional logs and information. In your case, the tests failing were all related to the documentation build which creates the website from the source code/repository using sphinx: Welcome — Sphinx documentation

The failing Azure pipeline has different steps. The one which failed was again related to the documentation: SphinxWindows, on the step Build dochttps://dev.azure.com/mne-tools/mne-python/_build/results?buildId=20802&view=logs&j=c04f1cb7-a28e-5e8a-4074-704b3a6c72b1&t=c5a3e5f7-2b1e-57e1-93fb-c99e1ea8bb1a