Which EEG device to purchase for data acquisition

i see only some of the EEG headsets are compatible with MNE for montages to have topographic plots. Being a PhD student i want to purchase EEG headset

can any one suggest, which headset i need to purchase (including suggestion on num of channels, company name etc…), so that it could be compatible with MNE library and also EEG lab etc and work well

please can anyone reply to me @ anudeep.errabelly@okstate.edu

Hello @AnudeepErrabelly and welcome to the forum!

Generally you can use pretty much any EEG system. It’s helpful if the electrode layout / the cap they provide follows a 10-20 (or similar standardized) layout. This will make certain things easier, esp. if you want to perform analyses on the source level and don’t have individual electrode locations and MRI scans available for each participant.

From my own experience, I feel that Biosemi systems with active electrodes are very easy and quick to prepare (by that I mean the time it takes to place the cap and be ready for recording). I personally have a positive bias towards BrainProducts active electrodes, even though they may have some limitations. But I can’t help it, I somehow find the company sympathetic (only ever had great experiences with their support team).

I believe it makes sense to get a system that some of your colleagues are already familiar with – as every system has its own quirks.

I hope this helps a little.

Richard

cc @sappelhoff @cbrnr maybe you have some input too

4 Likes