Question about 60_sleep.ipynb tutorial, especially the raw_train.plot() function

Hi MNE team,

I am new to MNE package and just started playing with the code in Tutorial

import numpy as np
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
import matplotlib 
import mne
from mne.datasets.sleep_physionet.age import fetch_data

from sklearn.ensemble import RandomForestClassifier
from sklearn.metrics import accuracy_score
from sklearn.metrics import confusion_matrix
from sklearn.metrics import classification_report
from sklearn.pipeline import make_pipeline
from sklearn.preprocessing import FunctionTransformer

ALICE, BOB = 0, 1

[alice_files, bob_files] = fetch_data(subjects=[ALICE, BOB], recording=[1])

raw_train = mne.io.read_raw_edf(
    alice_files[0], stim_channel="Event marker", infer_types=True
)

annot_train = mne.read_annotations(alice_files[1])

raw_train.set_annotations(annot_train, emit_warning=False)

# plot some data
# scalings were chosen manually to allow for simultaneous visualization of
# different channel types in this specific dataset
raw_train.plot(
    start=60,
    duration=60,
    scalings=dict(eeg=1e-4, resp=1e3, eog=1e-4, emg=1e-7, misc=1e-1),
)

(1) My First question related to this plot as it has extra content than in the tutorial slide.

• Question 1 - What does this bar do? More specifically, why all the vertical line are located between 30000 and 50000, what does the different color represent? I tried to play with the plot start and duration parameter and this bar does not change. ( I did not see this in official tutorial)

• Question 2 - What does this bar do? especially the area highlighted in red ( did not see this in the official tutorial)

• Question 3 - I am trying to understand the event marker here. I see it changes very fast within 5 secs the event marker changes drastically. However, if I print out the annotation, the event duration is much longer. Did i miss anything here? Is there a better way to see the annotation raw data?

annot_train[0]