MNE Python and CAT12

Dear experts,

I’m quite new to MNE python and I’m trying to migrate to it from Fieldtrip for MEG analysis.

My question regards the anatomical reconstructions.

I have a large dataset with anatomy (surfaces t co) extracted with the Computational anatomy Toolbox (CAT12). There is a way to use those anatomical reconstructions in MNE python, without re-running everything in FreeSurfer?

Thank you very much in advance !

Davide.

1 Like

hi,

MNE is really meant to work smoothly with freesurfer. It’s not impossible but it’s clearly
not easy and would require a deep understanding of the MNE internals. I would suggest
to rerun with freesurfer.

Alex

Thank you Alex for your quick answer !

Actually, the dataset consists in something like 1200 subjects … so it will be very difficult to re-run everything in FreeSurfer !

Do you think it is very complex? There are guides on the topic? What about using low level anatomical objects loading and then run the analysis? I’m quite good in programming, coming from C++, and I’m not afraid of “complex things”.

Otherwise I’m afraid that re-running everything n FreeSurfer will be not possible and therefore impossible for me to switch to MNE Python (something I would really do :(((( … ).

Thank you again and have a nice day !

Davide

(caveat: I have no experience with CAT12 so I may say something naive).

My feeling is that if @DavideTabarelli is able and motivated to work on this, it would be a useful thing to have in MNE to be able to read CAT12 surfaces. But I wonder if it’s already possible? I poked around on CAT12 Manual and found a section called

Surfaces in (normalized) template space (after resampling and smoothing; saved in subfolder “surf” by default)

and there they say there is a surface

RESAMP resampling to 164k (Freesurfer) or 32k (HCP) mesh [ resampled | resampled_32k ]