(EEG Analysis) Comparing scalp topographical distributions of theta activity across multiple conditions

Dear MNE-Python community,

Thank you for having built this great Python package!

I am a student with little experience in the area of EEG analysis. I am currently working on my master thesis. I conducted an EEG experiment with three different conditions (A, B and C). Every participant was exposed to all three conditions (sequentially). I would like to find out whether the different conditions involved different scalp topographical distributions of theta oscillations. I hypothesise (among other things) that participants’ theta activity in condition C was dispersed over a wider brain area than their theta activity in conditions A and B. I am trying to test this hypothesis, but I am experiencing some difficulties. I hope you can help me. My apologies if any of my questions seem silly.

I am currently taking the following steps:

1. For each participant, I identify all bad channels and I apply independent components analysis (ICA). I have one data file per participant.
  2. For each participant, I extract epochs from that participant’s data file.
  3. For each participant, I ‘average the epochs for each condition’. Example: conditionAverage_A = epochs[‘A’].average().
  4. For each condition, I create a list that contains all participant ‘averages’ for that condition. Example: participantAverages_A = [conditionAverage_A_P1, conditionAverage_A_P2, …].
  5. For each condition, I average all participant ‘averages’ for that condition. I call the resulting averages (evoked data) ‘sample averages’. For example: sampleAverage_A = mne.combine_evoked(participantAverages_A, weights= 'equal').

I now have three ‘sample averages’, one for each condition. I would like to do two more things.