The FREESURFER_HOME environment variable is not set

If you have a question or issue with MNE-Python, please include the following info:

• MNE-Python version: 0.22.1
  • Python: 3.9.2
  • operating system: Mac OS 10.15.7

Please also provide relevant code snippets – ideally a minimal working example (MWE). To get the correct formatting, paste your Python code, then select it, and click on the Preformatted text toolbar button.

:point_right: :point_right: :point_right: Please edit or remove the above text before submitting your posting. :point_left: :point_left: :point_left:

Hi everyone,

I am very new to MNE, sorry for my naive question.
I am trying to do a beamformer on my MEG data. So far I have used FreeSurfer to do fully automatic reconstruction on the T1 data. But I do not see any BEM data in the output.
I tried to use the function mne.bem.make_watershed_bem(), but I got this error:

Traceback (most recent call last):

File "<ipython-input-30-5a9ec101536f>", line 1, in <module>
    mne.bem.make_watershed_bem(subject)

File "<decorator-gen-97>", line 24, in make_watershed_bem

File "/Users/andrewchang/opt/anaconda3/envs/mne/lib/python3.9/site-packages/mne/bem.py", line 1103, in make_watershed_bem
    env, mri_dir, bem_dir = _prepare_env(subject, subjects_dir)

File "/Users/andrewchang/opt/anaconda3/envs/mne/lib/python3.9/site-packages/mne/bem.py", line 1630, in _prepare_env
    fs_home = _check_freesurfer_home()

File "/Users/andrewchang/opt/anaconda3/envs/mne/lib/python3.9/site-packages/mne/utils/check.py", line 694, in _check_freesurfer_home
    raise RuntimeError(

RuntimeError: The FREESURFER_HOME environment variable is not set.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Hello @andrewchang123 and welcome to the forum! :partying_face:

FREESURFER_HOME should normally be set if FreeSurfer was installed correctly. How do you run your MNE-Python script?

If you open a new terminal window, do you get something like the following output?