Seal Sleep Analysis- ICA, heart rate calculations, and custom Topography

Hello all,

Thank you very much for providing this forum for folks to ask their MNE questions! I am a PhD student using MNE and EEGLAB (and proprietary LabChart software) to process and score sleep data for seals (EEG, EOG, EMG, and ECG). I am trying to switch all of my analyses to Python to ensure reproducibility with open-source software.

Heart beat detection and heart rate calculation
I would like to detect heart beats and create an additional instantaneous heart rate channel to visualize the success of peak detection. In the past, I have used LabChart (proprietary electrophysiological analysis software) to generate “cyclic measurements” of heart rate in a separate channel. I have found HeartPy in python but would need to get the ECG channel out of and back into MNE to use this.
I have tried mne.preprocessing.find_ecg_events() to locate ECG events. However, I need to customize the qrs_threshold given that the seals’ heart rate can go down to 2bpm and up to ~120bpm. What do the numbers 0-1 mean for this variable?

I have not yet found an easy way to add a heart rate channel in MNE to visualize the success of find_ecg_events() at peak detection. Would you recommend using MNE for heart rate processing or switching to another software or package and then appending a separate channel to the EDF?

Here are the settings I have been using in LabChart:

ICA pre-processing