read_raw_fif function how does it work?

Hello!

I am a neuroscience student trying to read and plot my first raw meg data using mne and jupyterlab. I have 3 split files named “0116_tsss_raw.fif”, “0116_tsss_raw-1.fif”, “0116_tsss_raw-2.fif”. When I use the mne.io.read_raw_fif (0116_tsss_raw.fif) it automatically reads the first and second file (" “0116_tsss_raw.fif” “0116_tsss_raw-1.fif”) but not the third file ( “0116_tsss_raw-2.fif”).

I do not understand why it always reads the second one but not the third? I thought that the read_raw_fif function always reads all the fif-files in the same directory that ends with “-1” or “-2”? But for some reason it cannot find the third one…

I have also tried to use:
raw_con= mne.io.concatenate_raws([mne.io.read_raw_fif(fname1), mne.io.read_raw_fif(fname2), mne.io.read_raw_fif(fname3)])

But this only results in the fname2- file being read twice.

Thanks for the help!

Hello @kakallander and welcome to the forum!

No, it actually reads the first file and then checks raw.filenames for how to proceed.

Can you please share the output of

raw = mne.io.read_raw('0116_tsss_raw.fif') 
print(raw.filenames)

Please also share the output of

import mne
mne.sys_info()

Lastly, to make your code snippets and output more readable, please select the pasted lines, and click on the “Preformatted text” button in the toolbar here when creating your posts. This will also enable syntax highlighting, which makes reading much easier.

Thanks,
Richard

raw = mne.io.read_raw('0116_tss_raw.fif')
print(raw.filenames)

OUTPUT:

FileNotFoundError Traceback (most recent call last)
Input In [32], in <cell line: 1>()
----> 1 raw = mne.io.read_raw(‘0116_tss_raw.fif’)
2 print(raw.filenames)

File ~\anaconda3\lib\site-packages\mne\io_read_raw.py:96, in read_raw(fname, preload, verbose, **kwargs)
94 ext = “”.join(Path(fname).suffixes)
95 if ext in readers:
—> 96 return readers[ext](fname, preload=preload, verbose=verbose, **kwargs)
97 else: