Best practice for joining split, but non-compliantly named fif files

Apologies in advance if this question is misplaced - I am new to MEG data and MNE Python :slight_smile:

I have “inherited” MEG Elekta fif files from a single recording, split into three files.
The naming scheme of those files does not comply to MNE Python conventions or BIDS, it is unclear how those file names came to be, and a typical subject directory looks like this:

── Move_correc_SSS_realigneddefault_nonfittoiso
       ├── 1_memento_002_<sub-id>_mc_realigned.fif
       ├── 2_memento_002_<sub-id>-1_mc_realigned.fif
       ├── 3_memento_002_<sub-id>-2_mc_realigned.fif

Loading the first datafile (using MNE 0.23.dev0 on Debian testing) fails to co-load the second and third split. If I understand it correctly, this is due to the fact that the splits are not properly encoded in the metadata of the previous file, and that their file names also do not comply to MNE’s fall-back of an identical file name with a -1/-2 suffix in front of the extension.

raw = mne.io.read_raw_fif('Move_correc_SSS_realigneddefault_nonfittoiso/
   ...: 1_memento_002_ox81_mc_realigned.fif', on_split_missing="warn")
Opening raw data file Move_correc_SSS_realigneddefault_nonfittoiso/1_memento_002_ox81_mc_realigned.fif...
<ipython-input-3-7cbb1c29c355>:1: RuntimeWarning: This filename (Move_correc_SSS_realigneddefault_nonfittoiso/1_memento_002_ox81_mc_realigned.fif) does not conform to MNE naming conventions. All raw files should end with raw.fif, raw_sss.fif, raw_tsss.fif, raw.fif.gz, raw_sss.fif.gz, raw_tsss.fif.gz or _meg.fif
  raw = mne.io.read_raw_fif('Move_correc_SSS_realigneddefault_nonfittoiso/1_memento_002_ox81_mc_realigned.fif', on_split_missing="warn")
    Range : 37000 ... 1633999 =     37.000 ...  1633.999 secs
Ready.