question about forward solution

Hi, I have a question regarding the computation of the forward solution. I donā€™t understand whether it is necessary to set the ā€œmindistā€ parameter when using the functions ā€œmne.setup_volume_source_spaceā€ and ā€œmne.make_forward_solutionā€. If it is necessary, could you please explain why we need to exclude points closer than a certain distance (in mm) to the bounding surface?
Thanks a lot!

Can someone help answer this question? I am a novice and I do not understand the setup of this parameter. I would be very grateful for any help.

Hi @TTingW,

According to the functionā€™s doc-string:
mindist float: Minimum distance of sources from inner skull surface (in mm).

If you set a mindist parameter, Forward computation can remove vertices/dipoles that are too close to (or outside) the inner skull surface. Lets say, if you compute a forward solution with a mindist = 5.0 mm, all the potential vertices/dipole candidates will be excluded from the forward solution that are located within 5.0-mm distance limit.

In general, you can set a mindist parameter as 5.0 mm or 3.0 mm during the forward computation. Both parameters should work. For many functions, such as mne.compute_source_morph(), it is important to pass fwd['src'] or inv['src'] so that vertices removal is adequately accounted for.

You can have a look at this example for more details:
https://mne.tools/stable/auto_tutorials/forward/30_forward.html#sphx-glr-auto-tutorials-forward-30-forward-py

best,
Dip

I believe @TTingW would like to know why one should use mindist in the first place :thinking: