mne.io.read_raw_edf not loading data with mne>=0.23.0

Hi, I’m new to MNE and I’ve been having issues loading data with the newer versions of MNE. At first I thought it was something in the formatting of my data (from Emotiv Epoch) despite it being perfectly readable with edfbrowser, so I downloaded a toy file from edfbrowser, but I keep getting the same issues.

• MNE-Python version >= 0.23.0
  • numpy version: same behavior with numpy-1.21.4, numpy-1.20.3
  • operating system: OSX 12.0.1

Behavior with versions >= 0.23.0:

>>> import mne
>>> mne.__version__
'0.23.0'
>>> mne.io.read_raw_edf("/Users/neako/Downloads/eeg_recording/ma0844az_1-1+.edf")
Extracting EDF parameters from /Users/neako/Downloads/eeg_recording/ma0844az_1-1+.edf...
EDF file detected
Setting channel info structure...
Creating raw.info structure...
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
  File "/Users/neako/anaconda3/lib/python3.7/site-packages/mne/io/edf/edf.py", line 1222, in read_raw_edf
    verbose=verbose)
  File "<decorator-gen-197>", line 24, in __init__
  File "/Users/neako/anaconda3/lib/python3.7/site-packages/mne/io/edf/edf.py", line 137, in __init__
    description=desc, orig_time=None))
  File "<decorator-gen-183>", line 24, in set_annotations
  File "/Users/neako/anaconda3/lib/python3.7/site-packages/mne/io/base.py", line 661, in set_annotations
    new_annotations.crop(0, self.times[-1] + delta,
  File "/Users/neako/anaconda3/lib/python3.7/site-packages/mne/io/base.py", line 1580, in times
    out = _arange_div(self.n_times, float(self.info['sfreq']))
TypeError: expected dtype object, got 'numpy.dtype[float64]'

Previous behavior: there was an issue when using the function read_info but it wasn’t blocking the reading of data, info was still read when reading the file. Also the error is different.

>>> import mne
>>> mne.__version__
'0.22.1'
>>> mne.io.read_info("/Users/neako/Downloads/eeg_recording/ma0844az_1-1+.edf")