In _read_edf_header returns AssertionError

• MNE-Python version: 0.22
  • operating system: Windows

Hi, I am completely new to MNE. I tried to load data from an edf file using mne.io.read_raw_edf but it gave me an AssertionError. The code is simple as follows.

raw_data = mne.io.read_raw_edf("C:/Users/XXX/XXX/eeg79.edf")

And the error looks like this:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "D:/main.py", line 8, in <module>
    raw_data = mne.io.read_raw_edf("C:/Users/XXX/XXX/eeg79.edf")
  File "D:\Anaconda3\envs\mne\lib\site-packages\mne\io\edf\edf.py", line 1217, in read_raw_edf
    return RawEDF(input_fname=input_fname, eog=eog, misc=misc,
  File "<decorator-gen-182>", line 24, in __init__
  File "D:\Anaconda3\envs\mne\lib\site-packages\mne\io\edf\edf.py", line 114, in __init__
    info, edf_info, orig_units = _get_info(input_fname,
  File "D:\Anaconda3\envs\mne\lib\site-packages\mne\io\edf\edf.py", line 358, in _get_info
    edf_info, orig_units = _read_header(fname, exclude)
  File "D:\Anaconda3\envs\mne\lib\site-packages\mne\io\edf\edf.py", line 345, in _read_header
    return _read_edf_header(fname, exclude)
  File "D:\Anaconda3\envs\mne\lib\site-packages\mne\io\edf\edf.py", line 656, in _read_edf_header
    assert fid.tell() == header_nbytes
AssertionError

I’ve spent a whole day trying to solve this problem, please help me and let me know what should I do.

Hello, are you sure this file is a valid EDF file?

Yes! I am sure it is. It is neonatal EEG recordings in EDF format, the whole dataset can be found at https://zenodo.org/record/1280684#.YDj2qegzZEY.

1 Like

Thank you for sharing the dataset, I will try to have a look soon.

cc @cbrnr

The file has an invalid date set. MNE has been fixed to deal with this in version 0.22. Are you absolutely sure you’re using version 0.22? I just tried that version on my Mac, and reading the file works flawlessly. I only get the following message:

RuntimeWarning: Invalid date encountered (2000-00-00 00:00:00).