mass univariate analysis on individual electrodes and time points

• Python version: 3.10.2
  • MNE version: 0.24.1

Hi everyone,

I looked for a similar question but couldn’t find it in the forum (apologies if I missed it). I am brand new to Python and MNE, so I’m possibly biting more than I can chew… any help would be greatly appreciated!

I have a preprocessed EEG dataset with 64 electrodes and two conditions, and I would like to identify ERP components in a data-driven way. Specifically, I want to average the stimulus-locked ERPs of both conditions and run permutation t-test on this grand-averaged dataset, in order to identify statistically significant activity at each electrode and time point. This would result in an unbiased localization of brain activity that should correspond to well-known ERP components (e.g., N1), based on the significant time window and scalp topography. In a second phase, I plan to use the electrode ROI and time window to test condition differences.

I can already do this in MATLAB with the Mass Univariate ERP Toolbox, i.e., calculate one-sample t-tests vs. 0 at each time point and electrode and control the familywise error rate using a t_max approach. According to this tutorial, the permutation_t_test function in mne should accomplish a similar goal.

Unfortunately, I am not able to retain the electrode dimension: the permutation_t_test function seems to automatically average activity across electrodes. Below a (hopefully) reproducible example:

###########################
# import libraries

import random
import numpy as np
import glob
import re

import mne
from mne.stats import permutation_t_test

# set parameters

project_seed = 999 # RNG seed
random.seed(project_seed) # set seed to ensure computational reproducibility

preproc_path = '/path/to/data' # directory with preprocessed files

filenames = glob.glob(preproc_path + '/*.fif') # list of .fif files in directory

conditions = ['cond1', 'cond2'] # condition names