How to Combine Multiple Channels of EEG signals into one Channel EEG Signal?

** Hello Everyone,

I am new in this domain. I am working on this dataset: OpenNeuro

I want to convert the EEG signal into a Continuous Wavelet Transform (CWT) form.

Now I am facing some issues. Actually, an EEG signal consists of 120 channels, So the shape of the EEG is (num_of_channel,length_of_the_signal) If I give it to the cwt it returns the shape in this form (num_of_channels, scaling, length of the signal).

I want a signal to combine all the channels into 1 signal, and when I give it to cwt it will return this shape (scaling, length_of_the_signal), Not (num_of_channels, scaling, length_of_the_signal). How can I do this? Please guide me I am struggling a lot.

I am using the cwt library pywt (PyWavelets - Wavelet Transforms in Python — PyWavelets Documentation)

Thanks in advance.

Hi @Sameer-Ahmed7 , have you considered simply averaging across the channels before passing the data to pyWavelets? Something like

# assuming your EEG data is stored in a Numpy array
eeg_data_avg = eeg_data.mean(0)

No I didn’t but it will work? Actually I want to give this data to the cnn model after the processing. It will not damage the information of the whole channels?

It will work technically but whether it’s valid for your data and/or research question is harder to answer… That being said I’ve never averaged all my channels into 1 signal, In my experience working with scalp level EEG electrodes, I usually do something like this:

1. Identify bad channels, and reject them or interpolate them: see this tutorial
  2. identify and select a subset of EEG channels that you are interested in, for example electrodes over the occipital cortex. See mne.raw.pick. Hopefully after step 1, you can be confident that there are no noisy channels in this subset.
  3. Now your data will have a shape (n_selected_channesl, n_samples). Next, compute a metric of interest (in your case this PyWavelets function)