Extremely Large Numbers in Pandas Dataframe Output

Hi there,

I’m totally new to analyzing electrophysiological data and I’m just trying to wrap my head around how best to examine it for my purposes.

I’ve got resting state data from depth electrodes (sEEG) and I’m hoping to break it up into events based on when a specific channel enters a specific frequency. I’m not entirely sure how to do this using MNE but the dataframes option seemed like a good start.

The problem is that my dataframe numbers don’t make sense. Most of the outputs for each channel at any given time frame are in the millions, and according to the Algorithms MNE documentation page (Algorithms and other implementation details — MNE 1.6.0.dev195+gfa0e8cfc4 documentation), the units in the dataframe are supposed to be recorded in volts.

I have two questions: first, what are the numbers in this dataframe supposed to represent if not volts? Second, is there an easier way to create events based on frequency activity through the tools that MNE already has?

Thanks again!

• MNE version 1.4.2

I’m not sure if exporting the data to a data frame is the best way to do analysis in MNE-Python. If you are new, I recommend going through some tutorials to get a feeling for how things are typically done.

In any case, can you show some entries of the data frame? You are correct that the values should be in volts, so with EEG you can expect numbers like -2.233259463389e-05. Depth electrodes should result in signals that are a little larger, but definitely not millions of volts.

Hi there,

I understand it’s probably not the best way to analyze data through the dataframe, however, based on what I’ve seen so far, there doesn’t seem to be a way to generate events based on the frequency of specific electrodes using the MNE analysis tools. If I am wrong about this, please correct me.

As to the problem with the dataframe, here is an example snapshot of what I am getting when I convert the raw data into a dataframe.