EEG Channel projection

Hi All

In other signal processing fields, such as the earth sciences (my background is geophysics) it is reasonable and common to take a spherical coordinate system and related raw signals and project them onto an appropriately chosen 2 d plane to support analysis. Examples may include mapping seismic data recorded on the surface of the earth.

Is it clinically reasonable to map EEG channel data in a similar way such as mapping montages that cross the naison/inion plane onto the naison/inion plane?

If it is reasonable then are there standard methods for doing so?

Thank you and regards

Robert

Hello @robkoneksa,

are you suggesting to plot a sensor that is located “below” the Nasion-Inion plane in 3D space by orthogonally projecting it onto this plane, thereby placing it closer to the center of the circle formed by the Nasion-Inion plane?

Hi Richard

Thank you for your prompt response.

To answer your question - Yes

Though i am first asking if this is an appropriate thing to do from a clinical perspective. Different montages may cover different parts of the brain and I don’t know enough to know if it is reasonable to treat the brain as a homogenous entity from a signal processing perspective.

On the other hand when working with vectors in other physics problems such projection is quite common - i.e determination of a vector’s contribution to each of the axes in the target coordinate system.

Regards

Robert

Hello @robkoneksa,

when MNE produces the 2D projections, sensors below the Nasion-Inion plane are moved farther away from the head circle center. I believe this makes the most sense and provides reasonable interpretability.