Critical error mne-bids-pipeline ICA automated EOG artefact correction on Fp1 and Fp2

Hello again,

as mentioned before - I am new to python and mne.

I have been working step be step through the mne-bids-pipeline, sorting out one problem after the other, but now I am stuck at the ‘calculating ICA solution’ step:

[15:28:51] preprocessing/_04a_run_ica sub-AUAY02MA A critical error occured. The error message was: No EOG channel(s) found

Aborting pipeline run.

File “/Users/opt/miniconda3/envs/mne/lib/python3.10/site-packages/mne/preprocessing/eog.py”, line 142, in _get_eog_channel_index
raise RuntimeError(‘No EOG channel(s) found’)
RuntimeError: No EOG channel(s) found

In my customised config file I have defined the eog as virtual channels as no separate eog channels were recorded.

eog_channels: Optional[Iterable[str]] = ['Fp1', 'Fp2'] (reference has been set to average, and analyse channels to all).

It doesn’t seem to recognise the eog-specification. What am I missing? Do I need to specify the eog channels anywhere else?

Best wishes, and thanks again.
Fraenni

Hello @fraenni, this should work :thinking:

Could you please post the entire (sometimes super long) error message? I mean all lines that get printed when the error occurs.

For good formatting, you can use the “Preformatted text” button in the toolbar.

Thanks!

Richard

@fraenni If you cannot get it to work, I invite you to join our tomorrow’s online office hour, where we can try to figure things out together via screen share:

The office hours sound great. thanks. will try to join.

Here is the full error message:

[15:56:05] preprocessing/_04a_run_ica sub-AUAY02MA A critical error occured. The error message was: No EOG channel(s) found

Aborting pipeline run.
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/Users/PredictiveLanguageCoding_EEG/EEG_analysis/mne-bids-pipeline-main-3/run.py", line 246, in <module>
    fire.Fire(process)