unexpected outcome after applying baseline

• MNE version: 1.0.3.
  • operating system: Windows 10

Hi all,

I have use the Epochs.apply_function() to create a baseline, but I get a very flat (negative) line after applying it. I am fairly new to neuroimaging, so please excuse me if this is a naive question.

The relevant code is:

loading session and resting state data

raw_intensity = mne.io.read_raw_nirx(subj_data_dir, verbose = False)
raw_rest = mne.io.read_raw_nirx(subj_rest, verbose = False)
raw_rest.load_data()

creating and applying the baseline (to epoched data)

baseline = raw_rest.get_data().mean(axis=-1, keepdims=True) # get avg value in each channel;
epochs.apply_function(lambda x: x - baseline, channel_wise=False)

Outcome:

(before, my graphs did show the data).
currently my epochs are -60 to 10 and I only have a 60 sec resting state (I made them an equal duration but got something very similar.

Any advice on what I should check would be greatly appreciated!
(tagging @drammock as as this is the follow up question, thanks!)

Rosyl

Given that you use read_raw_nirx I guess this is fNIRS data (which I don’t know much about, so I may not give the best answers). Tagging @rob-luke to correct my mistakes :slightly_smiling_face:

My first question would be: are the resting-state data and the experimental data expected to be on the same scale? Are they measuring the same thing? (I know fNIRS has various measurement types / modes / ?) Was there any preprocessing done to one file that was not done to the other one?