Resting State EEG Cropping

I am a newbie to EEG signals and also MNE.I have BrainVision resting state EEG which has only annotations. I was only able to read raw file and create events using mne.events_from_annotations, could anyone be kind enough to help me with the following question
1.Should I do preprocessing on the epochs/events .If yes how do I do it ?
2. How can I crop the raw file for only one annotation ie. if annotation description is like {‘Comment/no USB Connection to actiCAP’, ‘New Segment/’, ‘Stimulus/S 1’, ‘Stimulus/S2’, ‘Stimulus/S3’}
Then I would like to crop the raw file for all occurrence of a particular annotations and save it as a raw file

Hi @Joseph45, welcome to MNE discourse!

1.Should I do preprocessing on the epochs/events .If yes how do I do it ?

I’m not sure if I understood your question - are you asking whether you should perform on raw or the epoched data? Things like resampling and filtering (at least highpass) should be done on the raw signal. Other steps like interpolation, marking/rejecting bad parts/epochs or ICA can be done either way (on raw or epochs).

1. How can I crop the raw file for only one annotation ie. if annotation description is like {‘Comment/no USB Connection to actiCAP’, ‘New Segment/’, ‘Stimulus/S 1’, ‘Stimulus/S2’, ‘Stimulus/S3’}
    Then I would like to crop the raw file for all occurrence of a particular annotations and save it as a raw file

I would need some clarification here as well to be able to help. Do you want to crop the raw data to remove all signal before the onset of a particular annotation and after onset + duration of some other annotation?

Thank you for the quick response, @mmagnuski .
For the first question,it clarifies my doubt.
For the second question,I meant how to crop the data from onset of a particular annotation + duration of that annotation and in the end my newely cropped raw file should have only event/annotations
Stimulus S2