Read and analysis EEG from .dat file

I have several EEG data in .dat files.
Is there any function from men to load/read this type of file?
And the process to visualize it and to display it as a topo map?
I am a freshman at EEG and mne library, so I really need help.
Thank you

Hello @longle1319898,

you need to figure out which EEG system was used to produce the files, and then pick an appropriate reader for loading the data with MNE-Python.

Best wishes,
Richard

Hi @richard,

I checked information on MNE website, and I found that:
" Persyst EEG data (.lay, .dat)

EEG data from the Persyst system can be read with mne.io.read_raw_persyst()

Note that subject metadata may not be properly imported because Persyst sometimes changes its specification from version to version. Please let us know if you encounter a problem."

However, I used this function and got this error.
fname = “s01.dat”
raw =mne.io.read_raw_persyst(fname)

FileNotFoundError: The path you specified, “s01.dat.lay”,does not exist.

What should I do?
Thank you

In the Notes section for that reader, it’s stated that there also needs to be a .lay file. Since you don’t have one, I doubt that your data is in the Persyst format. .dat is just a very generic extension and could basically mean anything …

You could try to open the file in a text editor and see if it’s a text file or a binary format.

Hi @richard ,

It is a text file.
The file below is my EEG signal, could you please help me to take a look on it?

Hello, the data is a pickled Python dictionary stored in an encoding that’s unusual today. This is how you can read it:

# %%
from pathlib import Path
import pickle

path = Path('EEG_template.dat')

content = path.read_bytes()
data = pickle.loads(content, encoding='ISO-8859-1')