Preprocessing long EEG recordings

Hello MNE Forum! :smile:

FAIR WARNING
VERY green in this world, I apologize in advance for any dumb questions or reasoning.
However, VERY humble and eager to learn. I don’t have resources to take paid classes but I do have time to read, watch, learn whatever you throw at me.
If the answers are right under my nose I’m sorry to have bothered you all and grateful for any pointers in the right direction! :pray:

(background)
My name is Maria and I’m a medical student from Sweden spending the summer and autumn doing research about EEG-patterns during sleep. I have no prior knowledge about coding, python etc.

I’ve started out by:

1. Creating an account on GitHub, installing Git and anaconda navigator according to some instructions from neuraldatascience.org
  2. Learning some absolute basic Python language by trial and error and Youtube
  3. Digging through the MNE Tools tutorials and experimenting with my data in Spyder

(data)
Now, the data I want to analyse is in sets of

• 19 EEG channels in a classic 1020 montage
  • 4 EOG channels
  • 1 ECG channel
  • 4 EMG channels

With a sample frequency of 256 Hz.

Each recording represent a ~ 20-40 min nap with a few minutes awake in the beginning of every recording. While awake, the subject is instructed to do an LRLR eye movement, which they are further instructed to repeat during sleep in the occurrence of a Lucid Dream.

(idea)
I want to study the patterns of different wake & sleep stages, probably focusing extra on REM-sleep and if REM-sleep patterns differ when in a Lucid Dream. I’ve found the Multitaper Toolbox from Prerau lab, which seems like a good way to visualize the data in an easily comprehensible way, and i’ve managed to plot these spectrums from some of my data.

(problem/question)