How to create simple Topoplot image file from BrainVision files and (vaguely) related questions

• MNE version: 0.24.1
  • operating system: currently Windows 11 for evaluation/development - if evaluation is successful, will move to a dedicated Docker container

In the context of a research project I was tasked to research how to visualize a snapshot of EEG data as a topomap and thus discovered the MNE library which at first glance appears to be a good fit.

Being primarily a developer of Windows desktop software by profession, I am unfortunately not (yet) fluent in the domain language required here nor do I have any significant experience with Python graphics libraries or MatLab or the likes so please forgive me if I use weird words (or use the right words in weird ways) in the following descriptions and feel free to correct me... Also, as this is just a very small part of the overall project and mainly intended for use in a demo prototype, I am also trying to keep the effort as low as possible, so I might have missed obvious information or documentation. In that case I'd obviously be grateful for links to the relevant documents.

So what I get as input is a set of .vhdr/.vmrk/.eeg files and the number of seconds into the recording that Iā€™m supposed to take the snapshot of (though that info might also already be embedded as an annotation - Iā€™m not yet sure how to read this). The output should be a single PNG file.

Edging towards a solution by trial and error, I started out with this test code:

import os
import mne

raw_file = os.path.join('.', 'RawData', 'vp_1232.vhdr')
raw = mne.io.read_raw_brainvision(raw_file)
events, event_id = mne.events_from_annotations(raw)
epochs = mne.Epochs(raw, events, event_id = event_id)
projs = mne.compute_proj_epochs(epochs)
epochs.add_proj(projs)

This produces the following output:
Ā“Ā“Ā“
Extracting parameters from .\RawData\vp_1232.vhdrā€¦
Setting channel info structureā€¦