How excluding rejected epochs by Autoreject before ICA do not effect EOG?

Hi,
I am working around with AutoReject and ICA for cleaning data. I know that the suggested practice is applying AutoReject before and after ICA and I have checked this example.

However, I don’t understand how applying AutoReject before ICA do not badly effect our preprocessing. In fact, Autoreject will find some epochs with EOG artifact as bad epochs. By excluding them from ICA, how should the ICA find the EOG component?

ica.fit(epochs[~reject_log.bad_epochs])

Here EOG epochs are among bad_epochs, am I right? and the question is if yes, how ICA can properly understand the EOG component by not seeing them?

1 Like

I’m no expert in using Autoreject, but I had the same thoughts. I try to give ICA as much data as possible, and I think it is essential to include eye activity. I usually only exclude inter-trial segments as well as extremely huge artifacts (which I manually annotate). This results in pretty decent ocular components most of the time. In my opinion, it would make sense to use Autoreject after the ICA cleaning step.

2 Likes

Thanks for the answer @cbrnr. I have also checked here and here and found them very useful but still have the same issue with AutoReject before ICA and I guess maybe I miss something. Maybe @richard can help because he has some useful advises there.

The threads you mentioned recommend applying Autoreject after ICA. I think the Autoreject step prior to ICA is to only learn a global threshold which can be used by ICA to automatically ignore certain segments of data. This first Autoreject step does not reject any data.

So IMO the goal is to provide ICA with sensible data. Whether you manually exclude segments (e.g. inter-trial segments and large artifacts) or you use Autoreject to define a threshold that finds large artifacts (and thus removes them prior to ICA) is up to you. The “real” Autoreject step is always after ICA.

3 Likes