Getting started with fNIRS montage

Hi,
I am new to fnirs and MNE. I want to draw the montage (electrodes layout) in 2D and also in 3D on a head model. I am not sure how to start. Some of the electrodes in the montage correspond to the 10-20 eeg electrodes locations, but some don’t. So I have the distance between electrodes, and thier distance from known 10-20 electrodes, but I am not sure how to proceed and what is the format that this info should be stored in. I have a MKII fnirs system (Artinis).
Thanks in advance!

Hello @Michalw and welcome to the forum!

I’m tagging @rob-luke, MNE’s fNIRS expert, who I’m sure will be able to give you some advice!

Best wishes,
Richard

Hi @Michalw,

Thanks for trying out fNIRS with MNE and taking the time to report your question. I don’t have access to an Artinis system, but we can figure this out together, it may just take a few more questions to find the optimal approach.

What we need to do is create a Montage in MNE. This can be done either by reading a file that contains the optode positions in 3D, or by providing the positions manually. Let’s address each approach in turn.

Using a file with optode positions.

Have you looked at this tutorial Importing data from fNIRS devices — MNE 0.24.dev0 documentation ?

The Artinis Octomon and Brite23 have set optode positions. So we created a file to store these positions, then we can simply read it and use the set_montage code. In MNE you must code your optodes and sources and detectors according to a specific convention (see Importing data from fNIRS devices — MNE 0.24.dev0 documentation). Then you need to create a file describing the 3D locations of your specific setup, here is an example from the bride 23 mne-python/artinis-brite23.elc at 0b503d8b64bd1383eee0450c3998700ad354a1ef · mne-tools/mne-python · GitHub

So in the end your code would look something like…

# Following from the tutorial linked above
info = mne.create_info(ch_names=ch_names, ch_types=ch_types, sfreq=sfreq)