fNIRS GLM BIDS App error after read_raw_bids() RuntimeWarning

Hello :slight_smile:

When using Rob Lukeā€™s BIDS GLM app for fNIRS data, I ran into an error for more than half of my subjects, which is a ValueError stating that " support is only available for experiments where all durations are the same ". But in fact, they are the same (8s each). Iā€™ve looked into the events.tsv and channels.tsv and they look no different to the other subjects - except for exact onsets and samples of course. For the same sub, thereā€™s sometimes even one session working while the other is producing the error.

What those subjects all have in common is the read_raw_bids() function throwing the following warning after reading events:

:1: RuntimeWarning: Limited 1 annotation(s) that were expanding outside the data range.

As I am fairly new to mne-bids, my question now is: Can I somehow gain insight into what causes this warning? And what is my ā€œdata rangeā€ exactly? Iā€™ve already looked for some mne.io.Raw methods to use, but that led me nowhere useful so far and now Iā€™m a little stuck. Where do I have to start digging? Iā€™d appreciate any help!

Below are 1) my specs, 2) execution of the GLM app + error message, as well as 3) how the events.tsv file looks like.

Cheers,
Dani

1)

• MNE version: 1.0.2
  • MNE-bids version: 0.10
  • operating system: Ubuntu 20.04

2)
GLM app execution:

{'ApplicationName': 'fNIRS-Apps: GLM Pipeline',
 'ApplicationVersion': 'v0.3.4',
 'Arguments': {'export_drifts': False,
               'export_shorts': False,
               'input_datasets': '/bids_dataset',
               'output_location': '/bids_dataset/derivatives/fnirs-apps-glm-pipeline',
               'sample_rate': 0.6,
               'session_label': ['01'],
               'short_regression': True,
               'subject_label': ['03'],
               'task_label': None},
 'ExecutionStart': '2022-04-25T10:01:23.527725'}

Extracting subject metadata.