Analysis of EEG Data with Variable-Length Recordings

Dear MNE,

I am currently working on my student graduation paper, and this is my first attempt at EEG preprocessing and analysis. The dataset I have received consists of 3 sessions with 15 participants and 24 recordings per session, each having its corresponding 24 labels. The recordings involve participants watching videos, with each video corresponding to one of 4 emotions that I aim to recognize using a SVM classifier.

The problem I am encountering, and which I have no idea how to solve after long time, is connected to the fact that each of the 24 recordings has varying lengths. For example, for one participant, there are 24 recordings of [62 channels] x [N] (e.g., 62x33601, 62x19001, 62x9601 etc.).

I am writing this post primarily to ask for suggestions on the correct approach for handling signals of different lengths, as well as an evaluation of the processing approach, which I will describe below. Maybe the issue occurs earlier.

1. Reading a data from MATLAB type of file and creating Raw for each recording:
info = mne.create_info(ch_names=chan_names, sfreq=1000, ch_types='eeg')
raw = mne.io.RawArray(data=data, info=info)
  1. Downsampling data drom 1000Hz to 200Hz:
downsampled_raw = raw.copy().resample(200, npad="auto")
  1. Bandpassing:
bandpassed_raw = downsampled_raw.copy().filter(l_freq=1, h_freq=75)
  1. Creating epochs of a fixed length (4 seconds as authors of the dataset) since the dataset does not provide any information about events or triggers. Just all recording has its emotion label.
epochs = mne.make_fixed_length_epochs(bandpassed_raw, duration=4, preload=True)
cap_montage(epochs)
  1. Detecting EOG artifacts and dropping them + additional dropping by autoreject.
def ica_repair(epochs_data, raw_data):
    ica = ICA(method='picard', random_state=23,  max_iter=10000, verbose=True)
    ica.fit(epochs_data)

ica.exclude = []